top of page

Chapter History

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. chartered the Gamma Zeta Sigma Chapter in Daytona Beach, Florida in 1946.  Sorors responsible for forming this chapter were, for the most part, professors at Bethune-Cookman College and instructors in the public school system of Volusia County.  These charter members were inspired by Soror Mary McLeod Bethune’s leadership as President of Bethune-Cookman and her work in the community through the founding of the National Council of Negro Women.  Her motivating force encouraged the five charter members to provide services and programs that promoted human welfare within Volusia County.

The first president of Gamma Zeta Sigma was Wilhelmena White Colston, who later moved to Greensboro, North Carolina where she remained until her death.  Of the original charter members, Marion M. Speight remained in active service the longest with the Daytona Beach Alumnae Chapter; fifty eight years until her death on January 21, 2005. The Chapter's first pledgees made in 1946 were Carrie L. Bently; Vivian Hall Boston; Dorothy Stephens; and Elouise Jackson McGill.


In 1960, Grand Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. changed the names of graduate chapters from the Greek name to the name of the city or the geographic area where the chapters were located.  Thus, Gamma Zeta Sigma Chapter became the Daytona Beach Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.

bottom of page